The map above represents PHRI’s international and comprehensive network of National Leaders who represent and facilitate PHRI research locally. These National Leaders work with PHRI trials, some for over 20 years, to provide in-depth knowledge of the practices and approaches in their respective countries and regions and identify and access relevant local resources. They extend PHRI’s capacity by providing scientific leadership, assistance with the conduct of the trial (site selection, regulatory issues, meetings, translations, integration of the study protocol and concept in the context of local guidelines and standards of practice) and peer support in their country.

Over the past 20 years, PHRI has built solid relationships with many of the world’s leading health organizations from the public, academic and private sectors. PHRI has the expertise and flexibility to collaborate on comprehensive research projects for the unique needs of each sector. This ability to adapt, while maintaining the utmost level of academic research integrity, has led to long-standing relationships with the organizations listed below.

PHRI International Fellows

These highly productive and successful researchers are of international renown and are longstanding collaborators of PHRI. They hold a faculty position at an international institution.

  • Colin Baigent – University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Rafael Diaz – Instituto Cardiovascular Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Maria Grazia Franzosi – Mario Negri Institute, Italy
  • Bernard Keavney – Newcastle University, United Kingdom
  • Scott Lear – Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • Johannes Mann – Ludwig Maximilians University of Munich, Germany
  • Martin McKee – London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, United Kingdom
  • Srinath Reddy – Public Health Foundation of India, India
  • Dan Sessler – Cleveland Clinic, USA
  • Karen Sliwa – University of Cape Town, South Africa

PHRI International Senior Fellows

Previously trained at PHRI, these are highly productive independent researchers who continue to do collaborative work with PHRI and hold a faculty position at an international institution.

  • Alvaro Avezum – Dante Pazzanese Institute of Cardiology, Brazil
  • Clara Chow – George Institute, Australia
  • Phil Gorelick – Michigan State University College of Human Medicine, USA
  • Abhi Goyal – Vanderbilt University, USA
  • Ganesan Karthikeyan – All India Institute of Medical Science, India
  • Martin O’Donnell – NUI Galway, Ireland
  • Prem Pais – St. John’s Research Institute, India
  • Dorairaj Prabhakaran – Public Health Foundation of India, India
  • William Whiteley – University of Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Denis Xavier – St. John’s Research Institute, India

PHRI Affiliate Researchers

Affiliate Researchers are independent non-physician researchers, linked with a PHRI Researcher and they hold their own research funding.

  • Sandra Carroll
  • Ada Tang
  • Vince DePaul
  • Mike McGillion

Companies, Government and other Agencies who have funded PHRI in recent years

  • Abbott Laboratories
  • Ministry of Economic Development and Innovation (Ontario)
  • AstraZeneca
  • National Institutes of Health
  • Bayer
  • Novartis
  • Boehringer Ingelheim
  • Novo Nordisk
  • Boston Scientific
  • Octapharma Canada Inc.
  • Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care
  • Cadila
  • Pacesetter Inc.
  • Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI)
  • Pfizer
  • Canadian Diabetes Association
  • Portola
  • Canadian Institutes of Health Research
  • Public Health Agency of Canada
  • Canadian Stroke Network
  • Roche
  • Eli Lilly
  • Sanofi-Aventis
  • The European Commission
  • Servier
  • GlaxoSmithKline
  • St. Jude Medical
  • Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada
  • Toyota Tsusho America Inc.
  • Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario
  • United Health Group
  • Johnson & Johnson
  • Wellcome Trust
  • Medtronic
  • Merck