The Perioperative Care Congress 2021 had a strong (virtual) program, and was well-attended by perioperative professionals from around the world November 11 – 14. Hosted by the Society for Perioperative Research and Care (SPRC), the congress this year included: bariatric, cardiac and ortho surgery; ERAS; several PHRI trials; anesthesia and postoperative pain; and  more.

PHIR presenters included Scientist Richard Whitlock (LAAOS III); Investigator Emilie Belley-Cote (VISION Cardiac Surgery); Investigator Flavia Borges (HIP ATTACK-1); Scientist Michael McGillion (SMArTVIEW); and Senior Scientist PJ Devereaux (PVC-RAM-1).

Here are a few highlights from PHRI and others live-tweeting the event:

Research competition winners and SPRC awards

Kameela Alibhai, University of Ottawa, won first place in the research competition.

Matthew Chan, Chinese University of Hong Kong, was named the Society of Perioperative Research and Care (SPRC)’s Researcher of the Year.

Su-Yin MacDonell, UBC, won the SPRC’s Excellence in Clinical Teaching award.

Joel Parlow, Queens University’s Anesthesia Department, was given the SPRC’s Distinguished Service Award.

PHRI’s Sandra Ofori won first place in the resident/fellow category for her work, “determinants of smoking and abstinence and the effect of smoking on vascular outcomes one year after major noncardiac surgery: Analyses from the VISION study.

PHRI’s Flavia Borges won first place in the junior/mid-career researcher category for her work, “myocardial injury in hip fractures: a HIP ATTACK-1 substudy.”

Left to right: PHRI Investigators Emilie Belley-Cote and William McIntyre; PHRI Scientist David Conen. (Photo: 2019).

PHRI Investigators Maura Marcucci (with microphone) and Flavia Borges Kessler. (Photo: 2019)

Back To Top