Population Health Research Institute
About PHRI

Organizational Framework
The foundation of PHRI

 < back

The Population Health Research Institute is organized both by research program specialties and by a supporting organization structure. The research program specialties are principled on the interests and passion of our researchers. Some of PHRI's researchers support more than one program specialty leading one or more study in a specific field of interest. PHRI fosters a culture of scientific collaboration across programs resulting in many researchers building cross-cutting experiences and developing new innovative studies that continue to increase our program capabilities.

Research Program Specialties


Organization Structure

The PHRI organizational structure provides support to the program specialties through enabling central and coordinated research departments. Leaders of the supporting departments are members of a coordination committee responsible for operating policies and procedures, and efficient resourcing across PHRI to manage the needs of each program.



Governance Structure

Executive Committee
The PHRI Executive Committee sets scientific strategic priorities for the organization, identifying and discussing new and emerging health research areas and establishing objectives based on scientific interest and capabilities. This committee meets up to ten times per year and hosts broader strategic retreats up to two times per year to identify and carry out its goals. This meeting is regularly chaired by the Executive Director, however, available co-chairs include the Deputy Director or either of the Associate Directors. Committee membership includes senior researchers and a cross representation of members from the Coordination Committee.

Executive Committee Membership:

  • Dr. Sonia Anand
  • Dr. Stuart Connolly
  • Ms. Beena Cracknell
  • Dr. P.J. Devereaux
  • Ms. Jane Gaviller-Fortune
  • Dr. Hertzel Gerstein
  • Dr. John Eikelboom
  • Dr. Robert Hart
  • Dr. Tara McCready
  • Ms. Janette Panhuis
  • Dr. Janice Pogue
  • Mr. Andrew Renner
  • Dr. Koon Teo
  • Dr. Salim Yusuf


Coordination Committee
Reporting to PHRI Executive Committee, the mandate of PHRI’s Coordination Committee (CoCo) is to determine operational requirements of the PHRI and to ensure the quality and integrity of study operations and information. The committee is comprised of senior department and study team heads who undertake review, discussion, and decisions in relation to the research operations in a monthly meeting. The committee provides direction on implementation of policy and strategy proposed by Executive Committee.

 Coordination Committee Membership:

  • Ms. Jackie Bosch
  • Ms. Sue Chrolavicius
  • Ms. Beena Cracknell
  • Ms. Jane Gaviller-Fortune
  • Dr. Eva Lonn
  • Ms. Rose Mayhew
  • Dr. Tara McCready
  • Ms. Janette Panhuis
  • Dr. Janice Pogue
  • Ms. Sumathy Rangarajan
  • Mr. Andrew Renner
  • Ms. Susan Ercole
  • Dr. Koon Teo
  • Ms. Ellison Themeles


(back to top)



Print    Email
Population Health Research Institute • Hamilton, Ontario • information@phri.ca